Idaho State Bennion Banquet

Sam Corbett and Addison Grisaffi (The Player Formerly Known as Mousecop) pose for a picture at the Bennion Banquet
Sam Corbett and Addison Grisaffi (The Player Formerly Known as Mousecop) pose for a picture at the Bennion Banquet
Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 4/30/2013 11:04 pm




POCATELLO, Idaho- The Idaho State Athletic Department celebrated the 2012-13 year with the 61st annual Bennion Banquet on Tuesday evening at the Clarion Inn. The master of ceremonies for the event was Pocatello Mayor Brian Blad.

Idaho State’s men’s Big Sky Scholar Athlete is Donovan Henley from football. Henley graduated from Idaho State in December with a 3.69 GPA in psychology and is a two-time Big Sky All-Academic team member. He excelled on the football field as he played and started in all 22 games while recording 22 tackles and seven interceptions. He earned honorable mention All-Big Sky Conference during his two years at Idaho State.

Down is graduating from Idaho State after three years with a degree in Mass Communications. As a redshirt freshman, Downs earned Academic All-Conference honors.  She holds a 3.96 GPA and is from Kaysville, Utah, where she graduated with high-honors and named to the academic all-region team.

Here is a list of the awards for the evening.

Student-Athlete Academic Achievement: Bradi Hutchison, Track and Field; Mark Clampitt, Football.  
Cheerleader of the Year: Harley Goedhart.
Cheerleader Newcomer of the Year: Jordi Draper

Men’s Lifter of the Year: Clink Gosack
Women’s Lifter of the Year: Sheridan Hapsic

Men’s Tennis Player of the Year:      Jamey Swiggert
Men’s Tennis Team MVP:     Charles Norman

Women’s Tennis Player of the Year:   Kasey Bacon
Women’s Tennis Team MVP:     Maria Tangarife

Women’s Golf Player of the Year......Julia DiGiallonardo

Women’s Cross Country Outstanding Performer:    Chloe Palakovich
Men’s Tennis Outstanding Performer:    Bryce Jenkins

Women’s Volleyball Offensive Player of the Year : Breanne VanEvery


Defensive Player:  Jaclyn Hone-Hawkins
Most Valuable Athlete:  Lori Mendenhall Best Offensive Player:  Vicky Galasso
Softball Best Defensive Player:  Maddy Hickman

Women's Soccer:    Rookie of the year....Vanessa Cabilan
Most Improved Player:   Rachel Strawn, Senior, Roy, Utah
Most Valuable Player:    Sheridan Hapsic

Men’s Basketball Bengal Pride Team GPA Award: Clint Thomas

Men’s Basketball Most Valuable Player- Chris Hansen and Tomas Sanchez

Women’s Basketball Most Improved Player:  Abyee Maracigan
Women’s Basketball Defensive Player:  Kara Jenkins
Women’s Basketball Most Valuable Player: Kaela Oakes

Football Outstanding Offensive Player:  Rodrick Rumble
 Football Outstanding Defensive Player:  Donovan Henley
Outstanding Newcomer: Taison Manu
Outstanding Special Teams Player:  C.J. Reyes
Most Valuable Player: Josh Hill

Outstanding Men’s Field Athlete: Mike Arnold and Clink Gossack
Outstanding  Men’s Track Athlete – Jessie Sorensen
Men’s Most Valuable Athlete: Andy Lish.
Women’s Outstanding Field Athlete – Caitlin Maulin, Junior, Boise, Idaho
Women’s Outstanding Track Athlete – Chloe Palakovich and Bradi Hutchison
Women’s Most Valuable Athlete  – Camille Marchand

Big Sky Scholar Athlete Award- Presented by Nancy Graziano
Male Big Sky Scholar Athlete Award: Donovan Henley, Football
Female Big Sky Scholar Athlete of the Year: Danielle Downs – Volleyball
0 Comment(s)
Comments: Show | Hide

Here are the most recent story comments.View All

No comments yet!
Rio 2016
All content © Copyright 2015 to Idaho Broadcast Partners LLC . All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.
Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.