Alliance of American Football Logo

Next February, even after the NFL's Super Bowl, there will be more football to get us through the winter.

It will be called the Alliance of American Football. In February, 2019 the new league will debut. It will be an eight-team league with a 10-week season and a four-team playoff.

Charlie Ebersol and Hall-of-Famer Bill Polian are the co-founders of the league.

You'll notice some rules in the AAF that are different from anything you've seen before: Kickoffs have been eliminated; the play clock will be shorter; there will be fewer commercial breaks; and strict head safety protocols will be part of the game.

Former All-Pros Jared Allen, Hines Ward and Troy Polamalu tapped as senior-level player relations executives. The league will draw from players that are looking to begin or extend their professional careers.

Charlie Ebersol, AAF Co-Founder and CEO says, "We've brought together some of the top football experts and some of the greatest players that have ever played the game, with a commitment to put high quality, top flight football on the field."

Bill Polian, AAF Co-Founder added, "We're putting together, and have put together a great group of coaches. I wish I had the ability to mention them today but we're going to roll them out over the next little while, and as Charlie Ebersol says, stay tuned, you'll recognize many of the games and we're excited to have them on board."

The Alliance of American Football has a limited partnership with CBS Sports.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.